Light-O-Rama Forums

Drones Registering

Plumber Plays with Lights

Was watching the news this morning. Saw the government wants hobby drone users to register with the transportation dept. to operate drones. Just a fyi. They were going to start the New rules around thanksgiving.

I did that hobby a few years ago building my own hex. There was talk back then about regulations coming. Too many people get stupid with them. If the spinning blades touch you it is like being touched by a food processor. Flying them directly above people is very dangerous.

They did the same thing with powered parachutes about 10 years ago and it put all of the guys selling them out of business. One of my former employers used to sell them. They now require a pilots license to operate them.

Good. Too many idiots out there that don't have the common sense to fly responsibly. I've been flying Phantoms for almost 2 years now... I've seen others fly these things waaaaay too high, or waaaaay too fast & on the edge of control when over people. I'm glad they're starting to crack down. Too many people just have no freaking sense when they get into these things. 

Good. Too many idiots out there that don't have the common sense to fly responsibly. I've been flying Phantoms for almost 2 years now... I've seen others fly these things waaaaay too high, or waaaaay too fast & on the edge of control when over people. I'm glad they're starting to crack down. Too many people just have no freaking sense when they get into these things. 

Do you really think this will help.  Millions of drones out there.. a relatively small about of people being stupid.. so go after everyone... Yeah.. that will help..  How about they go after the stupid people? 

I'm thinking with the number of drone sightings near airports, they're trying to go after the stupid people.

Sadly, I think this is a case of stupid people going to define an entire industry.