Jump to content
Light-O-Rama Forums

Recommended Posts

First, I'm using 4.1.2.  I have tried to do my homework - read the help file, looked in the forum, and even tried Google.  I can't find what I'm looking for, so I am turning to the forum for help.

 

I have file AA that contains an existing sequence, arranged into 5 tracks and a bunch of channels.

 

I created file BB that contains a new sequence to the same audio file, containing a new set of channels and the sequence entries for them.

 

I would like to "copy" the entire contents of BB, including the channel assignments, into a new track in file AA.

 

I'm sure it is easy, but I just can't find the magic decoder ring.

 

Thanks  Mikey

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't think there's any clean, easy way to do that.

What you'll need to do is decide which sequence, presumably AA, that will be your template for this year. In that one, you'll need to re-create the new channels that are in BB. Then you can copy/paste the new sequencing you've done from BB to AA.

After you've finished, go to EDIT, EXPORT/IMPORT CHANNEL CONFIGURATION, give your configuration a name, and then export it. Next time you create a new sequence you can import that config and you'll be ready to go.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What George outlined, is what I did to expand my 30 halloween/xmas sequences with rows from shared sequences that I got from others.

It really worked rather well since I only wanted selected areas from shared sequences, not the entire sequence.
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't think there's any clean, easy way to do that.

What you'll need to do is decide which sequence, presumably AA, that will be your template for this year. In that one, you'll need to re-create the new channels that are in BB. Then you can copy/paste the new sequencing you've done from BB to AA.

After you've finished, go to EDIT, EXPORT/IMPORT CHANNEL CONFIGURATION, give your configuration a name, and then export it. Next time you create a new sequence you can import that config and you'll be ready to go.

Along this line. If I have a sequence and have my new configuration done. Can I export channel configuration as described above without clearing the sequence? In other words, if I export sequence will it just save the channel configuration and not the sequence. I added a few props to my last years show and added channels for these props to my existing sequences, now that I have finished all my sequences, I would like to save the new channel configuration without having to add to my old channel configuration manually again like I did for my sequences. Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Your existing sequencing will be unchanged by exporting/importing a configuration.

Having said that, if you've moved channels around or added channels anywhere except the bottom of your channel list DO NOT import that configuration into existing sequences.  Doing so will cause one of the most severe cases of sequence agony imaginable.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Your existing sequencing will be unchanged by exporting/importing a configuration.

Having said that, if you've moved channels around or added channels anywhere except the bottom of your channel list DO NOT import that configuration into existing sequences.  Doing so will cause one of the most severe cases of sequence agony imaginable.

Thanks Mr. G. I would only use the new configuration for new sequences.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just remember Indi, in one of your post you mentioned exporting a sequence and George mentioned exporting a channel configuration. This is two different exercise's, so choose wisely grass hopper.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Your existing sequencing will be unchanged by exporting/importing a configuration.

Having said that, if you've moved channels around or added channels anywhere except the bottom of your channel list DO NOT import that configuration into existing sequences. Doing so will cause one of the most severe cases of sequence agony imaginable.

Yes - I heeded George's and others warnings about always adding channels at the bottom. I even took a few of George's outstanding SequenceU classes so he could scream it into my head. But somehow between my SS and SE, as cautious as I was, I've Grinched myself royally. I can see the discombobulated results of my work. What looked great in Superstar is headless chickens in SE.

Thank God it's August and not October.

I should have time to recover.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a similar issue. We are building a new display of Whoville this year that using 10 -16 channel controllers. I've created a separate config file for it as it only uses the regular network. Our show config uses 9 networks and I don't have all the dongles in our workshop so if put these channels into our show config, SE will not run. Besides, it takes forever to update SE with the new channels using SE. We have 48 CCR's plus 28 - 16 Channel controllers and 75 RGB spots in our current show config. Looking for a better way. It's taking me an average of 1:43 to add one channel to the config file. 

BTW, don't know why my version in signature is incorrect, but we're using the PRO 4.3.14

Edited by MSB
Added time

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am working on a suite of utilities for manipulating sequence files.  I was planning to announce a call for alpha testers soon.  Amongst the utilities is one to split a sequence, and only keep selected channels, and another to merge sequences.

Also in the suite is a util to perform a smart apply of a channel configuration, a util for sparkle effects, an RGB color changer, one that does polyphonic transcription, and more.

So this is a little premature, as the utility suite is not ready for the public yet, but if you are interested in alpha or beta testing them, message me on this forum or email me at dev.utilorama@wizlights.com.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 7/27/2017 at 6:33 PM, MSB said:

I

BTW, don't know why my version in signature is incorrect, but we're using the PRO 4.3.14

Your version in the forum is (re) set in your User settings and has no knowledge of what you have purchased

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...