Light-O-Rama Forums

Building my RGB features. What wires?

Klayfish

I need to get on the stick and get my RGB features built, so that I can actually use them this year.  All I'm trying to build is one arch and two starbursts.  I have all the hardware...SanDevice, PSU, nodes, etc...now I just need to build it.  I've gotten a lot of help from Ron (thanks!!!) on how to set it up.  But before I get there, I'm still at step one.  Mounting the hardware into the box and wiring it.  I don't have any wires but plan to run to Home Depot.  What gauge wires do you use?  I'm using 5V RGB, so I'll need to inject power.  Can I use the same gauge wires for that? 

RGB is completely new to me, I've never used it before, so I'm learning as I go.  I move VERY slowly on doing this stuff, due to lack of time.  Heck, I've been working on the sequencing in SS since late 2013 and just now have 7 songs finished.

18 gauge minimum, IMO. 16 gauge if you can make it work. Make certain it stranded. For some reason the multiple strands carry current further without drop. I don't know the reasoning for it, but Doug, Jeff and Andy tested it last year at the mini. Multiple strands were far more superior than a few larger strands.

Edited by Ron Boyd

Thanks Ron.  So the 18 gauge will work for both connecting the SanDevice to PSU, as well as power injection?

Thanks Ron.  So the 18 gauge will work for both connecting the SanDevice to PSU, as well as power injection?

When doing my power injection,

I've been using my leftover spt1 from making power cords, has worked well for me

Most SPT-1 and SPT 2 is 18 gauge stranded wire, which is the reason I mentioned it. It's usually the most readily available and it's most likely, the least expensive.

I use a lot of this wire too, for injection as well as, controller to pixel string.

http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=p2050601.m570.l1313.TR3.TRC2.A0.H0.X4+conductor+speaker+wire.TRS0&_nkw=4+conductor+speaker+wire&_sacat=0