Light-O-Rama Forums

Moving Heads or dmx lighting with LOR

Nicpag123

hey I was just wondering I am new to Light O Rama and what do I need to deal with moving head lighting or other thearatrical dmx controlled lighting via light o rama and what liscence do I need if I'll just be using pixels and dmx no conventionaly controlled LOR boxes? thanks.

Hopefully this will help you:

----------------------------------------

SOFTWARE: 

For software, to control anything DMX you will need a advanced licence to LOR You can get that HERE.

You also mentioned you wanted to use pixels, to make pixel programming easier I recommend a free program called NutCracker, you can export NutCracker effects in to LOR

USB DMX:

If you just want to control standard theatrical lighting you can do this a few ways:

- The cheapest would be to use a standard LOR USB-Rs485 dongle, instead of setting it up as a LOR dongle in your network settings, go to the DMX tab and configure it as a dmx adapter. NOTE: doing it this way means you would have to create a patch cable that would convert pins 4-5 to pins 1-2 for normal dmx devices, but you can buy a pre-made adapter that converts the LOR USB-Rs485 to a 3 pin dmx line HERE.

- Alternatively you could use a Enttec dongle, or if you want to spend a little bit less money you could go with the HolidayCoro usb dmx dongle that functions similar to the Enttec Usb pro.

PIXEL CONTROLLERS:

As for pixels I personally will be using two of the holidayCoro Alpa-pix controllers in my show this year but there our lots of good controllers for pixels available.

A quick note about pixel controllers though is a lot of them use a protocol called E.1.3.1 This protocol is through your computers ethernet jack, if you want to learn more about E.1.3.1 and lighting in general a great thing to read is the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual

Here are some popular pixel controllers that work will with LOR:

- SanDevices E682

PixLite 16