Light-O-Rama Forums
jerrywolfer

S4 with pixels and music without Superstar

I'm new to using Pixels.

Read most all of the posts here but still not sure if S4 with out Superstar ($200) is for me.

I will have about 2500 DMX channels.

Using LOR E1.31 out to SanDevices E6804s.

No Superstar software (SS). And I don't know if SS even does Pixels other than the CCRs.

Do I understand that S4 Visualizer will import Pixels(RGB channels) from S4 sequencer making it much easier to program pixels?

Will S4 Visualizer import my music files to auto synchronize with Pixels somewhat like SS ?

Using S3 Visualizer for programing Pixels is a very long tedious task and synchronizing to music (for me anyway) has been almost impossible.

Anyone available to help me understand if S4 can help me with easier programing Pixels and synchronizing with music?

First, Superstar will do your RGB channels and your regular channels. Second, 2500 DMX channels will be difficult and very time consuming in S4 and, as you have already found, S3, using the Sequence editor.

The Pixel Editor is somewhat cumbersome to me, but I have not dug into it very far yet.

My analogy for Superstar is this, if you're going to build a 200' fence, you're not going to use a hand saw, are you? No, you'll go to a hardware store to buy a circular saw or even a table saw. Same here, if you want to do RGB Basic and RGB pixels, you need have the right tool for the job.

I'm not saying you need Superstar, but it sure makes fast work of building that fence.

Just a few thoughts to ponder.

Edited by Ron Boyd

I will add that superstar is not just for pixels.

Yes, I have pixels, CCRs,dmx dumb rgb but I also have AC and non rgb DC channels that I program using superstar.

Superstar has features that aid in your sequencing that is far easier than the sequencer in s3. S4 is same sequencer.

Once I started using superstar, I never use the sequence editor again.