Light-O-Rama Forums

A Basic RGB setup

marsh28

I've been receiving a bunch of PMs & emails about how to set up a basic RGB network using Light o Rama.  In order to give a consistent explanation, I figured I'd outline everything here.  I apologize in advance for the length of this post.

First things first: Resources

I am not an engineer by trade and had no idea about soldering or anything else prior to entering the world of RGB.  With that said, it can all be easily learned and doesn't require all that much technical skill.  Instead, sufficient knowledge is all that's needed.  With that in mind, I would highly suggest anyone entering the RGB world to visit www.auschristmaslighting.com.  This web forum was developed by a guy named Fast Eddy many years ago and represents all his trials and experimentation.  The posters on this forum are EXTREMELY helpful and unlike places like doityourselfchristmas.com, where the posters can get tough on newbies, the guys (and gals) at auschristmaslighting.com are extremely helpful.  While on that forum, please also make sure you download the auschristmaslighting.com Introduction to RGB manual.  It is a GREAT resource and gives a very good explanation about RGB networks and how to set things up.

With that out of the way, I'll now get to my show and show you exactly what I purchased in order to set it up.  Below is a list of everything I use to run my show along with links to where items can be purchased.

1: Controllers: I control all pixels using e1.31 protocol which is controlled via an assigned IP address on your laptop.  The advantages of e1.31 are that unlike DMX, which limits you to only 512 channels, e1.31 allows you to control many MANY times more lights at a much smaller cost.  For my show, I use TWO e1.31 RGB controllers from SanDevices.