Light-O-Rama Forums

talking face mini lights blowing

Old Sarge

I am in the process of making a talking face. I have the head out line done, no problem there.

The problem is when I try to shorton a string of mini light to use for the mouth sections  after they are plugged in for about 1 minute they all blow.

I have searched the net and cannot find if I have to have a minimum amount of lights on for them to not blow.

I currently have about 18 and they seem to be burning really bright and then they all blow out at the same time....

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated as I am a newbie and trying to learn about LOR.

Thanks you in advance

Retired_old_sarge@yahoo.com

Most regular mini lights in the strands are set to be equal to the voltage divided by the number of lights. Example, in a 50 count strand each bulb will handle 2.2 volts if you remove 15 bulbs and leave 35 bulbs the voltage will increase in the remaining bulbs to 3.2 volts and that will exceed what they are set to cause them to fail. what you need to do is not cut the excess bulbs off but wrap them up. I use plastic that I cut up from a large trash bag and wrap that with black electrical tape. I'm no electrical expert and I may ave even explained it wrong but there are some videos on you tube that explain this in more detail. good luck

If you need smaller amounts of lights, Wally World usually has tons of 20-light strings in clear and multi early in the season.

The problem with covering up the incandescent lamps is that you can easily increase the bulb temp and shorten the life of the bulb. That, in turn, leads to increased voltage coursing through the remaining bulbs, which then leads to what's described above.

Consider LEDs. Those you can cover the extras tightly with no worry about heat.

• Like 1

There is another post very similar to this one in another forum on this site.