Light-O-Rama Forums

Lighting problem blowing fuses

Hi all. I have been running 9 CTB16 controllers for 3 years (all G3 240VAC) with no issues until last Christmas. A major part of my display uses 240volt My T Brite 70 lamp 7metre LED strings – various colours (Australian sold made in China). Over Christmas I had about 8 different occasions when the bridge rectifier (2W10) in the power cords of the lights went short circuit and blew the fuses in the LOR controller. When it happens I have a fault finding exercise locating which 8 strings have gone out, then finding the power cord with the short circuit and replacing it. Replacing the fuse in the controller follows. All fun when you do this in the dark with your audience waiting! I know it goes with the territory.

Strangely I used the same lights with similar set ups for the previous two years without any problems.

At first I thought it must be something to do with the controllers as lights plugged directly into the power socket (not through the controller) did not appear to be affected. Then the problem began to occur when the controllers were on but before the show had started.

My T Brite has not experienced any other problems with their lights anywhere else in Australia and that includes many other LOR users I believe. I wonder if spikes or surges coming down the power line by my house could be the problem but I have not had any issues with any other electronic equipment, computers etc. And if this is the problem how do I stop it? Is there some sort of filter or device that might be a fix?

I would really love to hear if anyone has experienced anything similar or whether I am doing something dumb somewhere that I haven’t noticed.

Many Thanks

Interesting.