Light-O-Rama Forums

Wiring RGB Pixel Nodes and they dont light up?

Big Sanch Mafia

thanks for reading

I just received a new Easypix controller from Holiday coro, i powered it up. then i connected a string of 50 rgb pixel nodes and they don't come on. These are 5v nodes and I'm using a 5v cell phone charger as my power source. is it possible that my power source is not strong enough to power the pixels?

I believe the wiring is correct....... by putting the red wire to the V+, blue to data and white to GND.

Either i have it wired wrong or not enough power...either way I'm baffled.

I'm new to RGB pixels, using this year to learn about them, but im a bit stumped out the gate. I thought i would reach out to the community and see if someone can help out.

Thanks for your help

Edited by Big Sanch Mafia

First, did you get the programmer cable to go with the TinyPix? http://www.holidaycoro.com/Programmer-Cable-p/54-2.htm&click=670

It's quite possible the controller test function is off.

You should be able to access the software for the controller with that power source, but unlikely it will power all 50 pixels. Most pixels are 60 milli-amps per pixel meaning most 50 pixel strings will require 3 amps on all white. (referencing mine) Most cell phone chargers are in the 0.2 amp range. (looking at mine) This is by no means what they all run at, pixels or cell phone chargers, just what mine are.

Try a PS with at least 5 amps output and use the programmer cable. ***note*** This programmer cable will not work as a dongle for the show, but you can access all functions of the controller, and, run test patterns.

As a side note, if you're doing E1.31, you can use an E1.31 to DMX bridge to run this controller from your E1.31 stream. It's how I did it last year. This is the one I use: http://www.diyledexpress.com/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=22&zenid=16d892c120d0e0c80cfe8b2719b0f370

J1Sys has 2 also. Ed offers the ECG-D2: http://www.j1sys.com/ecg-d2/