Light-O-Rama Forums

First year with rgb! Need help and opinions

sonoma

I am a 6 year vet using LOR this will be my first year moving to RGB and dmx.Everything up to this point is going great, I have set many sequences to the RGB channels tested all sequences with DMX dongle and all is great. Here lies the problem, I was considering using flexible light strips as outlines for the windows and doors, I ordered a single led light strip from LOR as a test  and began measuring and cutting the strip to the length that was needed, after trying to solder the strip together with right angles I noticed that alot of the rgb's were not making the connection needed to complete the circuits. After closer examination of the strip itself I noticed that the strip was made of some kind of paper with copper connections, I believe that when the heat was added it was somehow burning the connection all the way through the paper material thus not allowing the the circuit to be made. "With that being said" has anyone had any success using strip lights or should I just spend the extra $$$$$ and go with individual nodes? 2nd part of this question; I have tried the strip lights from LOR, are the ones from holiday coro any better? I appreciate any and all suggestions, Thank You         

I'm going to do the same this year with RGB dumb strips for the windows. I've got the strips now. I've not yet attempted to cut and connect them which I have to do. Usually when working with anything sensitive such as traces, a small wattage iron is best and use flux to flow the solder easier, therefore less heat. Now, as I said, I've not yet attempted to cut and solder these but will shortly. If you've burned the traces, you'll need to replace the traces using a very small gauge wire, effectively bypassing the burned areas. To do so, easy on the heat, flux. Use ISO Alcohol to clean up.