Light-O-Rama Forums

Powering LED Light strings

srobins

Greetings,

Well I have purchased a number of mini trees that come with LED lights.  I would like to use a CMB24 RGB controller for this.   I am not a complete novice to basic electric, ohms law and such, but I am novice when it comes to driving LED light strings.   The driver for the light strings I have are 30v .08 amp output.  I was planning on getting constant voltage or current limiting power supply as I have read it is not the voltage that is important with LED's but the current flow.   I have 24 of these trees, but one driver powers 3 connected in parallel.

I am planning on the CMB24 since it allows 24 channels and will allow me to go into RGB products in the future.  

Please advise.

Thanks for all your help and I look forward to working with the group this year.

Steve

The mini trees are run from a driver that is 110V ac input and 30V dc at .08A   output. My plan was not to use the drivers that came with the trees but purchase a supply.  Note that one driver powers 3 tress at once. But I want to control the trees, one on a channel.  So I have 27 trees but only 9 drivers.  

I did a volt measurement on the trees and they are at 30V.

As of today I have not done a current measurement. 

I thought the  CMB24 took its voltage from one of the 12 channel banks but as long the voltage was greater or equal to 12V that would be fine.

I believe the cmb board can handle 30volts dc imput. are your trees rgbS or just one color led's their are 24 channels on the board but its set up for rgb 1+ 3- channels

Edited by Dennis Laff