Light-O-Rama Forums

Total E682 ws2811 newbie where do i start?

dito

i have been doing RGB/  LOR controllers for several years. Now I want to get into pixels. I've been told to get a Sandevice E682 and some WS2811 strips and/or pixel nodes. Where do I go to learn how to :

-hook up everything up

-program

-have LOR talk to E682

maybe I'm alreaduy in over my head but pixels look so DAMN COOL!

i have been doing RGB/  LOR controllers for several years. Now I want to get into pixels. I've been told to get a Sandevice E682 and some WS2811 strips and/or pixel nodes. Where do I go to learn how to :

-hook up everything up

-program

-have LOR talk to E682

There are a number of options of pixel controllers out there.  I think it depends on what you are doing on what model/style to get.  Sandevice has the E682 and the E6804. Joshua 1 Systems Inc. has a number of products for multiple needs.

I would suggest looking at the post on this forum.

Go to the link below and read the manual Fast Eddie created explaining E131 and how to configure and use it. I believe you will need to join the forum in order to download the pdf.

http://auschristmaslighting.com/forums/index.php/topic,1211.0.html

The Australia forum is a great place to belong to anyway...they have several of tehse How-To type manuals available on their site.

-Paul

I concur with Paul, that manual is a must! Also, look at the various types of pixels,  what people are saying on them...not all are created equal.  You will see the name Ray Wu floated around quite a bit as the inexpensive supplier on the majority of the forums. He stands behind his product, which I'm about to test firsthand...the 2811's you speak of, this year, there was a batch or 2 with bad IC's in them...so always build in a failure rate of 10% or so, to your order...just for grins and giggles...if you were one of the peeps who got strings from the bad batches, you couldn't build in enough failure rate...