Light-O-Rama Forums

Intensity setting

Linda Hadden

This is my 1st year with 32 Channels.

I was wondering why or when you would use the 'intensity setting' in a display or for what effect?

I have not yet used it in any of my sequences.

Linda

I think what you're asking is....

It's used to turn on a channel at 50%, or 20% (or any particular percent) power.

Very useful in animated displays. You can use it in soft parts of music; or to fade up (or down) in "steps" on a beat (25% for 2 seconds, 50% for 2 seconds, 75% for 2 secs, then 100%); or anytime you want to contrast a full ON or OFF. Watch some of the videos on lightorama.com, and you'll see many uses of various intensities.

Good Luck!

I am using it extensively this year. Other than LEDs, I have set the maximum intensity at 80% for all the incandescent lighting, including the fades. Also, this is my first year using plywood cutouts. As certain phrases are mentioned in a song, I fade up a cutout to 80%, then fade it down to say 40% so that it is lit dimly while the next cutout fades in for the next phrase and then back down to 40% until the song. This continues until the end of the song.

As a side note, I am hoping that LOR II will have the capability to remember what the intensities are set at. In LOR I, you have to go into the Tools tab and change the settings each time you start the program as it defaults back to 50%.

As well as the above uses, I often use it to chase a "full powered" segment across a lower-intensity background. For example, on my 3-color mega-tree, I might put the whole tree at 50% green, and "spin" a chunk of red at full power. You can do the same thing on a single color as well.

-Tim

Denny wrote:

As a side note, I am hoping that LOR II will have the capability to remember what the intensities are set at. In LOR I, you have to go into the Tools tab and change the settings each time you start the program as it defaults back to 50%.