Light-O-Rama Forums

Dry Ice

caniac

I am really new at this but have found a source for dry ice locally (ok Krogers but the have it and lots), my question is does this stuff break down in the freezer.  My idea is to buy a good amount of it and store it in my chest freezer until Halloween but I don't want to do that if this stuff has a self life.  Thoughts?

Way back when in Theater- (before the fluid fog machines were reasonable)- we tried storing dry ice for 2 weeks- we noticed that we lost a few pounds off of each 25 pound chunk...

Nope - Won't work very well; it will all evaporate because of the temperature difference.

Also, if you don't have a metal container, it may damage the plastic inside the chest freezer.

Nope won't work.  The stores that carry it, those are special containers manufactured to keep the dry ice colder than the dry ice is itself.  Your home freezer can't go that low and you will very probably have a big mess on your hands, and if your freezer has a key lock and it's locked, it could, depending on how much you would buy and store, literally blow the freezer apart! :o

EDIT: The stores freezers use liquid nitrogen to keep dry ice at or below it's own temperature, not Freon or whatever they use today in "home" refrigerators and freezers.  Used to work in a grocery store and other retail stores that sold dry ice, as well as home appliances.  You just can't keep dry ice in a regular freezer unless it's for when there is no power to the unit, as someone said earlier.

Edited by Orville

You're best bet to preserve the dry ice is to keep it air tight.  Normally they wrap it in paperbags.  Re-wrap as tight as possible.  Get about 1 1/2 to twice as much as you think you will need as it does evaporate.  I try to get it the night before to keep it from loosing too much mass.