Light-O-Rama Forums

robot's mouth movement

Airplane

I want to make a robot's mouth move was if talking for halloween during parts of the light show using the servo dog card. Does anyone know how to setup the show so i can play an audio track and have the robot look as if it was talking? If so, how do you program it. This is my first try using LOR as i just recieved my unit this last week.

Thanks,

Rob

Take a look at www.facebook.com/rollie.and.dan to see what I did with servos. There are some photos of the penguins under construction as well.

Get one of these: http://www.servocity.com/html/dual_servo_driver.html

Best fifty bucks I spent on animatronics. It lets you set up and debug the servo mechanics before getting involved with the servodog board and LOR software. Helps eliminate hardware binding and clearence issues before you try and sync to music.

Be patient. You will be using physics and geometry that you thought you would never have to use...ever. :wacko:

• 3 weeks later...

Papa-LF,

Excellent job!  Do you have any details of the mechanics that you would like to share?  I would imagine you used a pan/tilt mount for the head, one servo for the mouth, one for the arms and one for the body.  Just wondering how strong of servos you used and the internals.  No plan on building a snowman, but instead a smaller elf.  Thanks!!

Wayne

A few years ago MikeZ gave a great presentation on his animatronics at the Christmas Expo, his link to animatronics and presentations can be found here in the first post. 

http://forums.planetchristmas.com/index.php?/topic/47245-expo-class-presentations-handouts-and-free-content/?p=553584

Regards,

Mike S

Edited by Techster

Techster - you’ll notice that Mike Z is in the background of my video - Mike and I work together on our projects - when we can that is.