Light-O-Rama Forums

How can i pull this off

gizmo

Im thinking about a project for 2013.

my question is what do i need LOR wise to pull it off.

i want to control 196 channels running 5 V dc with a max of 1 amp on each, they will be RGB pixels or dumb RGB nodes

Im currently thinking of using 13 LOR DC controllers but thats $1300 just for the controllers.

I heard that LOR can now run (i think its DMX) that can control Pixels (im new to this)

What hardware/software will i need to buy?

I currently have:

software 1.6.9 (its old)

show director

LOR AC controllers

LOR DC controlers

i dont use a computer to run the show.

Edited by gizmo

I dont do anything fancy until this idea hit me, so the old version served its purpose.

I might have updated to S2 but not sure and that computer has died, and i have not programmed since 2010.

I just want to know what im up against.

Your license for S2 is still good. My advice, however, would be to download the demo version of S3. That will get you started to learn the essentials of the software that you'll need for working with RGB channels and devices.

From that point on, I think William's advice is the best you'll get. There's been more than a lot written and discussed in the past year so you can start just about anyplace. On the Austrtalia LOR user's forum there's a basic how-to guide for RGB strips and pixels that many people recommend. There's user groups on Facebook with some excellent information archived. There might even be something useful on PC.

Good luck. Merry Christmas!

Edited by George Simmons

What are you up against? Time and money.