Light-O-Rama Forums

Anyone use Cat5e cable >10' with ELL?

mcnamara9

If I use a Cat5e patch cable longer than the 10' cable provided, does that cause any problems? Curious to know if anyone else uses a longer cable.

Not that I'm aware of. I'm using Cat5, 5E and Cat6 cables. The longest is 25 feet and no problems. BTW, per LOR, cables longer than 25 feet are not recommended due to the voltage drops over longer runs.

Edited by dgrant

• 7 months later...

So I am new to LOR and have just admired them for years. I just bought a few controllers this year and keep seeing "ELL" but can not seem to figure out what this means.

Sorry for the newbie question but can you tell me what that means?

Thanks

Chris

I too use many Ells, they are the cats meow for sure.  I have them mounted on the tree above the controller, about 15' or so.

RS-485 (the protocol LOR uses on the cat-5 cables), RS 485 in a balanced run is good to 8000 feet, HOWEVER, LOR does NOT include balancing resistors (NOR should they) getting into the "High end" of the technical aspect of RS-485, is for PRO's ONLY, for most people (and applications) the balancing resistors are NOT needed (under 1000 feet generally), (That is Total length, of ALL cables combined, NOT per cable (all footages mentioned in my post, in this thread)). I'm speaking ACTUAL cables, NOT ELL's (Easy Light Linkers)

Greg Manning

Edited by a31ford

I believe the spec for the ELL calls for up to 25 feet between the ELL, and the controller powering it.  The issue is voltage drop in the cat on the pair used for power.

ETA:  I use 25 foot cables on both ELL's I use for the button that starts the show each year.  So far, zero issues.

Edited by -klb-