Light-O-Rama Forums

EDM antenna range

drums114

Hi -

I have a EDM transmitter and everything is working but the range is not reaching the street. I tried taking some zip wire, stripped some EDM wire and zip wire and attached the two and then the other end of the zip wire I stripped a little and ran it to the top of my roof. The range was better but I was wondering if anyone else had any ideas without buying a whole big antenna.

I also tried running a long probably 100 foot antenna (zip wire) thinking that would be better but it was worse than a shorter antenna (zip wire). Why is that?

Mark

Ouch. Don't to that. You can ruin your transmitter.

I am not an expert on Antenna's, but I do know about signal to wave ratio (SWR). I used to mess around with CB radios, and there is a device called a SWR meter which was used to set the antenna length correctly. The length of the the antenna affects the SWR, and if it too far off, it can ruin the transmitter.

Hopefully your transmitter is ok.

I wish I could help you get your transmitter working better, I do know that EDM sells an antenna that might help you.

Jerry

I have an edm transmitter as well and all I use is the small test antennathat came with it. It will transmit all the way to the loop before losing any quality which is about half a mile....I did however have some interference issues with normal house lighting that I got out of by simply relocating the transmitter to another circuit. Maybe something similar is happening with your transmitter?

I have an edm transmitter as well and all I use is the small test antennathat came with it. It will transmit all the way to the loop before losing any quality which is about half a mile....I did however have some interference issues with normal house lighting that I got out of by simply relocating the transmitter to another circuit. Maybe something similar is happening with your transmitter?