Light-O-Rama Forums

Where to Begin

mark obermiller

I am having a tough time with superstar. Is there a beginners tutorial. Something that starts from the very beginning. I have watched the videos. I have done alot of reading. When I get right down to it, I am having problems on where to begin.

I have no problems whatsoever with the sequence editor. Superstar is so much different, well I just am having trouble grasping it. Where do I begin? To prove i'm not a dope, I have already done 10 sequences with 696 channels. I guess I am the old dog that has trouble learning new tricks.

Thanks!

The best thing I did when I first started with Superstar this year was purchase one of Brian's sequences. I was struggling just like you say you are. I studied the sequence and once I had the "aha" moment, it's actually quite simple to sequence with. I sequenced ~15 songs with 8 CCP strings (4 units) and a set of DMX Rainbow Pixels at the same time. 1326 total channels and it only took about an hour per minute as opposed to about 4 hours for 112 regular LOR channels.

Keep at it. It will happen. If you would like to see how things are done in a sequence, let me know and I'll send you an instant sequence that has about everything, morphs, twinkles and others. If interested, send me an email address.

Ron.

If you haven't already watched, the "SuperStar Basic Scenes" tutorial is meant to be the first one to watch. It goes through and shows you how to create the first part of the "Carol of the Bells" sequence. The bars at the top confuse people at first, but the concept is that everything is an effect with attributs like start time, end time, start color and end color, and which pixels to turn on. With CCRs there are so many pixels that it is hard to display them all on one screen, so superStar represents each effect with a single bar. To see what pixels the bar controls you click on the bar and you will see them on the sequencing grid.