Light-O-Rama Forums

Showtime MP3 player vs laptop

SparkChaser

Hello everyone. Looking for some suggestions, as this is my first year. My question is this... I'm trying to decided on which route to use. I have a laptop that I have everything loaded on and was planning on using that to run my shows. However, I live in Minnesota and I'm starting to think leaving the laptop on in the unheated garage may not be the best idea. So my options are

1. leave it in the garage and hope for the best (maybe find a way to keep it warm)

2. drill a hole into the house to run both the cat 5 and antenna wire to my EDM transmitter

3. Purchase the Showtime MP3 Director and have that in the garage

Which option is prefered? I thought about the ELL's but I would still need a cord for the EDM (im using an external TM 100 antenna)

I'm using Ells to get outside.....But then I put my external antenna in the attic and just ran some RG58 cable to the transmitter which sits right next to my show computer.

What about the cheaper alternative of the mini-director and a $15-$20 timer. http://store.lightorama.com/midiwimp3pl.html

If between your two options, I would choose laptop. But for the price of the mini-director, I would choose it (what I use). Works great. Main difference between it and the Showtime director is the built in timer.

I ran the mini director for a couple of years, but now use the Showtime director, set the time at the beginning of the season, and forget about it till take down time.

I ran the mini director for a couple of years, but now use the Showtime director, set the time at the beginning of the season, and forget about it till take down time.