Light-O-Rama Forums

Question for the experienced...

TDOVEL

When do ya start preparing for Halloween an Xmas or any other holidays?? This is my first year and when it was Xmas in July I was preparing for Halloween and still haven't completed yet... Then only a few weeks to start my Xmas programming...

Hmmm,

PREPARING for Halloween? March isn't too early to start preparing... SOOO much to do!

PREPARING for Christmas? March isn't too early to start preparing... SOOO much to do!

SETTING UP for Halloween? I usually start the 2nd week of October.

SETTING UP for Christmas? I start the November 1st.

D.T.

In my short experience, I started last year in June for a 32 channel Christmas show. For the 2012 Christmas show, I started working on design and props in December 2011. I started some sequencing about

February on the initial design. I started sequencing on final design in May-June time frame. I have 5 songs to tweak and about 33 days before set-up begins for final testing. I start Christmas Set-up on the 3rd of November.

A 16 channel show for either may be about all you can get done in the short time you have. 32, maybe, but that would be pushing very hard between now and then, unless, you have your sequencing already finished.

If everything's ready to go, you're in good shape.

Good Luck,

Ron

I bought 4 controllers but only using 3, so far.. I've kinda cheated on some of my stuff for halloween, I'm lighting up the windows when some of my characters are talking.. I'm calling it old school!! Lol. But created Pennywise the clown from the movie IT, instead of doing the pumpkins! I'm

Only doing one song and several short clips from movies ( IT, Friday 13th and phsyco).

I was working on ideas for this year's display before last year's was up. I was purchasing items for prototyping in January/February, and actively working on items all year.