Light-O-Rama Forums

Newbie questions about LOR electrical

Guest guest

I have never done anything like this before.....animation that is. But I have been placing tens of thousands of lights on my home every year. I have never had a problem with electricity. And I do want any problems when I get LOR. About two or three yearsago I even managed to get my entire display yo run through one outlet using a large high capacity multi outlet timer. Every light on and opff atthe same time....loved it.

So here's the first question.....

I was planning on buying up to 5 LOR controllers and I was wondering what power will it take to supply these?

Now 95% of the channels will only have a maximum of 2 strands of 100 count mini lights that you could buy from any store during the holidays. Will each controller pull 30 amps of power? I hope not.......I mean if I have only 16 strands on 16 channels how much power is that really going to pull?

Thanks

Most 100 count, incandescent lights pull .34 amps. (Some Target brands pull .2)

So, each channel would have .68 amps each. Based on the 95% number, this means 76 of your channels are going to pull .68 amps, each. That's 51amps.

.68 * 8 = 5.44 (That's a side of a controller.)
.68 * 16 = 10.88 (That's one controller.)

Thus, 4 of your 5 controllers you could run on their own 15 amp circuit.

There is a spreadsheet floating around out there that can help you. (Anyone want to jump in with the link?)

Welome to computer control..
The controllers use only a small amount of power themselves.
The suprise your going to get though is your power bill.
In 2004 our electric bill was $150 higher than normal for December.
In 2005 our electric bill was $210 higher than normal for December.
Those were the last two years for our static display of 18,000 and 25,000 lights.
For 2006 we went computer controlled LOR 64 Chennels. Our electric bill for December 2006 was $75 dollars over the norm, and we used over 20,000 lights.
:]WooHooo