Light-O-Rama Forums

Opening .wma Files

Guest guest

I am VERY new to this. I downloaded a couple of songs from Wal-Mart.com and they are in .wma format. When I try to create a new musical sequence in LOR it says error opening file. They open and play fine in Windows Media Player. Any ideas? Thanks!

• 2 weeks later...

Tim Fischer helped me with this last night.

Burn the song to CD then rip it into a MP3. Worked on my Yahoo Music Engine .WMA download. (BTW the wma file was also secured and wouldn't even convert to a MP3 any other way)

:waycool::waycool:Who would have thought it would be so easy:waycool::waycool:

lol... would you believe that I am in the software industry and I cant figure this out.

ahhh..

I used itunes to burn to dvd, and now I need to rip it back. I gave it a shot a few times to rip back into itunes but no luck.

Rick wrote:

I used itunes to burn to dvd, and now I need to rip it back. I gave it a shot a few times to rip back into itunes but no luck.

No, you need to burn it to a standard audio CD (like you could play in any home/car CD player. Then rip it back.

It's the process of going to the audio CD where the copy protection gets lost.

-Tim

Thanks for trying to help me through it, but I have to admit defeat on this

The only program that will allow me to burn the files is itunes, and whatever I am doing isnt doing it right. I may just signup with another site that will allow me to download the MP3 format

Yeah....!!!

I finally went for MusicMatch, and it was fairly easy. Then again, I used this package a few years ago.

Merle Haggard - Rudolph The Red Nosed Reindeer

I know... you are saying.. why Merle Haggard? It has to do with the tempo of the song and where I live.

Rick - sorry that you had problems with Tunebite. The way I did it was to convert from Itunes to an OOG via Tunebite, and then convert from Tunebite to MP3 via Audacity.

I will attempt to find MusicMatch and use it next time.

The way to do it is this.