Light-O-Rama Forums

Little DMX help Please

bhasse

I have been programming with LOR since 2006 except for a break for the last 2 years while i was in Afghanistan. I am planning on a light show for 2012 and am looking at adding some new elements. I am looking at the RGB flood light kits and RGB CoroStar kits from Holiday Coro. I am comfortable putting these kits together. However, I am new to the DMX scene so I have a set up question. I am using LOR S3 software and have 4 16 channel controllers. I plan to purchase the HolidayCoro DMX dongle along with the kits mentioned above. How exactly do I connect the DMX dongle to LOR? Do I need to connect directly to computer like the LOR USB485B I already use for my existing lights or can I daisy chain the DMX dongle to one of the LOR controllers? Also can I use a mini show director to control the show or do I need to use my computer since I am adding DMX?

Thanks for your service to our country.

First off, I don't think David's DMX Dongle is just that. To my knowledge, that is a programmer to assign the ID to the DMX modules he sells for the Stars and Floods. I looked on his site, and he does say LOR DMX Dongle, so maybe contact David and be sure what you are getting.

For LOR to output DMX, you really only need another USB485 device, and yes, you would hang it off your computer just like your network today. You need to be sure you have S3 Advanced to output DMX. You make the DMX assignment inside the Sequence Editor, Network Preferences.

I am not certain about the Show Director and DMX. Maybe someone else can chime in.

On the output from LOR you will need to make or buy a cross over cable. LOR outputs DMX on pins 4/5 and DMX needs to be set up on pins 1/2.