Light-O-Rama Forums

Backyard July 4Th Show With Dmx Led's And Fog

caseydtaylor

This is my first year using LOR, and for July 4th I put together a show in my grandparents backyard for the fourth. They live on a golf course and every year about 300 people walk through to see the country club's fireworks, so i thought it would be the perfect oppurtunity to put a show together.

I should mention I'm also a DJ and the majority of the LED's came from my uplighting inventory...

Oh yeah, I'm 15.

The show was built using the LOR Showtime Controller, and a LOR DMX dongle. I used 8 American DJ Mega TRIPAR Profiles, 4 American DJ Mega Pixels, 2 American DJ Sparkle LEDs, 2 Chauvet Tridents, 1 Diversitronics Mark II Strobe, & 2 High End Systems F-100 Lightwave DMX foggers. One of the Mega TRIPARS complemented a huge 8' by 12' American flag that hung in the trees.

In the beginning of the show, there are several Jet flyovers I put together myself that were automaticlly panned from right to left to simulate a jet actually flying over. We had 2 EV Eliminator KW subwoofers and 2 EV Sx100+ Powered speakers placed in the the yard and you could feel the jet rumble by.

I hope everyone enjoys the video... It really didn't do some of the effects in the show justice... Please message me if you're thinking about using DMX and have any questions... I learned the hard way how to get it to work and it took forever! But otherwise... enjoy Stars, Stripes & Lights 2012.

So a few things I learned, the show was to long, and even with free cookies and lemonade, it wasn't enough to make people hang around for the entire thing. Next year I'm going to shorten it, and add some cooler effects...

Some extra still shots are attached...

post-10558-0-21188100-1341770311_thumb.j

post-10558-0-49048100-1341770312_thumb.j

post-10558-0-39051400-1341770313_thumb.j

post-10558-0-82436000-1341770313_thumb.j