Light-O-Rama Forums

~~~ Calling upon the LOR Gods - community newbies ~~~

Mike C.

Hi there my name is Mike C.

I’m a newbie to the game, and will easily go down as the biggest newbie In LOR history. In fact if you look up newbie in the LOR-Wikipedia you’ll find a picture of me. I’ve been trolling the forum since last year around december. I’ve been Trying to read up as much as possible, watching every bodies videos and the how to videos on the LOR website. I think I got the basics, so I think.

Before I continue I would like to warn you of my gratuitous use of CAPS, smiley faces :) , exclamation points!!!!!!!!, and my spelling/grammar are not the greatest.

Quick history run down, I live in the small city of Eastvale California next to the domain of the infamous Cracker in Riverside Ca ( picture below). Last year around Christmas time I was surfing YouTube and ran across Kevin’s (aka KJ92508) this is Halloween video. I was in a WTF! Moment throughout the whole video, thinking to myself how is this possible? No freaking way! That must have taken for ever to set up. This guy must be a rocket scientist or something, and so on. I quickly called over the wife and kids to show them the video and they had a similar reaction. My kids bless their little hearts put me on the spot saying “daddy can we do that next year?”

I paused, and told them yeah I think so, at that point my wife had “the look” on her face. You know the look when they’re thinking “here we go”. I did some digging and found my way to the LOR website and forum. I would consider myself a moderate DYI’r with no fear of the honey does list. I’ve always backed away when it comes to electricity; I had a wake up call when I was changing out a power outlet without shutting off the breaker. :shock:

I think I’m ready to give the madness a try and jump in with both feet.

But I have some if not a lot of questions. So here it goes.

1- Those each 16 channel controller requires a 15-20 amp outlet?