Light-O-Rama Forums

Disheartened Before My First Show

ThatDJTroy

Hi All!

I'm a newbie to LOR this year, so I'm just getting started. However, I've been on this site since Nov '11 reading all the forums/posts/tips/etc.

I'm disheartened when I've visited some LOR veterans' websites and read they have closed down their displays due to traffic issues, unruly visitors, HOA issues, etc. To think all of that time and effort, as well as the passion for creating something for others to enjoy is done away with really makes me sad. I understand we have no control over certain things -they are what they are. But for others (verterans) who have maintained and expanded their displays over the years, how do they avoid the obstacles I've mentioned?

As most, I live in a small, and very quiet neighborhood. Even before I decided to have an LOR display, I've already questioned possible traffic issues in my neighborhood since I'm at the end of a cul-de-sac in the back of my development. I don't anticipate a flood of visitors for my first simple display. But I also don't want to introduce any mayhem to our peaceful community either.

Any thoughts? Ideas? Suggestions?

Let them come.
Though, it sounds like you're in a HOA. That could be an issue. Be sure to check the rules.
If you know your neighbors well, let them know what you are planning.

I'm not in a development, but I do live on a small street and so just a few cars, causes issues for the people that live around me. But never heard any complaints.

Just last week, someone stopped by and told me how much they and their kids loved the display.
That's all I need to hear to keep doing this.

You can control the traffic, just by adjusting your show schedule. This year, I played a song, then kept all of the lights on for 30 seconds, then moved onto the next song. Cars were in & out in under 5 minutes! So, I dropped the "all-on" phase, and they stuck around for 10-15 minutes.