Light-O-Rama Forums

Individual Pixel Control, not CCR

Denny

Can SuperStar be used to sequence individual pixels that are not CCR? Anticipating LOR's upgrade to E1.31 this year, I have ordered an ECG-P12R from Joshua 1 systems http://www.j1sys.com/ecg-p12r/ .Communicating with Ed at Joshua 1 Systems, this controller will allow individual control of 12 strings of 170 pixels each. Sequencing 2040 pixels (channels) without the aid of software would be too formidable a task for me. Most people using this system either use LSP or Madrix. Since SuperStar makes sequencing of CCRs (with which I have no experience) easy, does anyone know if it can be used to sequence other pixel systems? I am hoping to use the system this year for a 15 foot mega tree. I was going to do a multi-color, spiral mega tree with leds this year, but seems this system would probably be about the same cost, or less, than building one with multiple strings of different leds. It would also give almost unlimited flexibility in colors, patterns, etc., if SuperStar can do the sequencing and E1.31 capability is provided by LOR this year.

I know superstar can help in this area but would require the max license to do that many strings. I do not have enough experience in the software yet on how to, but look up the few that have the pixel trees and ask them how they did it. The grinch one is rediculous with text, pictures, and color changes.

currently Superstar doesn't support DMX devices if that is how you will control the pixels. Per this thread a future release (says January) would support it. http://forums.lightorama.com/view_topic.php?id=28487&forum_id=96&highlight=superstar+dmx

I tried it this year but ran into this.

of note.. pixels eat up Visualizer memory extremely rapidly. It only supports so many elements. I had to do all of my pixels in the old animation window, and my traditional LOR in the Visualizer because of this. Use the 2 tools side by side and it worked ok for visualization.