Light-O-Rama Forums

Getting started

lightfan

Im not sure where to begin, i have downloaded the demo but theres not a lot i can do or even open, can someone help me with where to begin
Thanks

Take a look at Bob's Videos ... they will give you some idea of what you can do in the software. http://forums.lightorama.com/forum95/28633.html

Also, click on the Help file (located in the Sequence Editor), as it has a wealth of information in there about the LOR software. You can also click the Help File on the Software Download page: http://www.lightorama.com/SoftwareDownloadPage.html

There is a lot of information there ...

I'm just beginning my second year. First of all, I'd say that you've taken a VERY important first step. You've started early. With all the "learning" I did from last January until I lit up my show Thanksgiving weekend last year, I can't imagine starting late and still getting it up and running. Some have done it successfully, but not many.

Second, I'd suggest you read, read, read. Read the S3 software user's manual, per Don's link above. Read the forum regularly. Even the stuff you think won't interest you. You'll likely learn something new in almost every post. It's likely you'll be working on something 6 months from now and remember "...hey there was a forum post on that subject; I'm gonna go check that out again..."

Third, if you can afford it, buy one controller now and start playing with it. I'm a very visual person, so when I can actually "see" how it works, I remember it much better.

Fourth, pick songs you like. You're going to be hearing them a lot. Over and over and over as you're sequencing them. Maybe as many as 100 times or more.