Light-O-Rama Forums

Tell me that I am crazy

eurbani

I was going to say that I wanted to ramp up quickly,but I'm someone who commits and just goes for things. So, I'm going to run to the top of the ramp and jump off.

These are my thoughts. Any comments and suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I highlighted my questions in red in case you want to skip past my abundant background.

About me

First, I am 47 years old and I started my first Christmas displays fairly independently when I was 12. I used to save my paper route money and go to the after Christmas sales.

I have a degree in computer science with heavy electrical engineering background. I have worked in the IT industry, but not EE.

I am a fairly solid DIY guy and comfortable with home wiring from the outlets and switches back through the circuit breakers.

In the past, I have done a lot of home automation using video modulation, X10, IR distribution, computer interfaces and programming.

On to Christmas

This year's display had about 11K lights. Most are incandescent mini-lights. About 2,400 of those are inside the house on various household circuits. I use four 15amp circuits to power the exterior lights.

Here is a video of this year's display if you want to get an idea of what I do.

http://static.ak.fbcdn.net/rsrc.php/v1/yX/r/rRonvvrNV1M.swf?v=2839757797644&ev=0 (The music is dubbed to the video and not part of the display.)

I control the lights with X10 which is fine for simple color cycling, but could never be used for synchronizing. I have 20 channels to control the lights.

I purchased about 3,000 LED lights this year. Some will be simple replacements of my incandescents. Others will be to add a "Tree" center piece to my display.

The Plan

I'm thinking that I want to start with ten 16 channel controllers. (Yes, I know...I'm crazy).