Light-O-Rama Forums

Shutdown of PC at the end of the night

Guest guest

I'm new to LOR. Is there a way to either LOR issue a shut down commnad to XP to power off the computer at end of the last show?

I was thinking of using an X10 appliance/relay module to "cut" the pwer from the computer. To pwoer on the computer I was going to use an applicance timer with an on time 15 minutes before the start time. (I guess I could use an X10 module too.) (The BIOS in my computer is set to "On power failure - Power on" This BIOS doen't have a wake-up time.)

Any beter ideas?

Personally... I don't think it's worth it. Plus I use LOR sequences to run security lighting at night, and music during the day... I'd vote to just keep it running. If you're using Win98 or ME, though, be sure you restart it once or twice during the season. Learned that the hard way -- darned resource-leaking OS's...

-Tim

This is a batch file that will work with Windows XP. Just schedule the batch file to run at the time you need the PC to shutdown. Your appliance timer should work to turn the PC back on.

Thanks.

I just converete from Dasher this year. I'm finding I'm loosing some feature and gaining others. LOR software is incrediable, it is soooo much easier. (I have a lot of animation.) Just need to find ways to regain the functionality I've lost.

PCs can be more stable when they run all the time. (e.g servers)
Power cycles up and down actually are what cause some failures.
The components heat then cool down causing loose connections or read faults in some hard drives.
I’m not saying leave you PC up and running all the time but in my cause its in the garage where the temperature is a little lower then the house.
I put so much work in to my display this year (45 days @ 5 hours a days) I don’t want anything else to mess up.
I will leave my PC running for 30 days then power it down like usual.

The only disadvantage is you are paying to power somethig you are not using.