Light-O-Rama Forums

Fan Arches and Leaping Light Arches

Ron Boyd

I modified a design that I found earlier in the year. The drawing is for a fan arch but is easily modified for a leaping arch also. Just removr the long sweep 90's and wrap lights on arch section instead of string the fan.Only costs about $10 to build and then add lights. This is my first year, and I've learned so much that I thought I'd share some of my ideas. Hope this might be helpful, especially for first timers.

Merry Christmas all,

Ron

Attached files 279365=15484-Fan Arch.jpg

First, welcome to the addiction and madness that is LOR.. There's no turning back now.. Second, thats a good design, but many are using sleeeves for the arch wraps as it's a lot easier replacing bad sections or swapping colors

Attached files 279600=15507-2010-07-03 22-57-46.972.jpg

• 1 month later...

Folks, I hope all of you see this. Use 3/4" for this if you make it. 1/2" didn't work so well when I started wrapping the lights. I rebuil mine with 3/4" and it's much more sturdy

TJ Hvasta wrote:

LEDs, you still cant swap out colors without unwrapping. Go with sleeves, you WONT be sorry.

By far, I agree!!!

everything that I've read is 100 to 250 lights per channel, (ie 100 clear or white, 200 clear or white or any combination and a 50 ct string of blue added.) On the fan I built, I used 100 clear on 8 channels and 100 blur on 8 channels for a total of 1600 lights and 16 channels.

TJ,
How long are your sleaves? Even though my arches were made before some wise guy got the idea of sleaves. Sure wish I had heard about the sleaves before I built my arches. I might have to rebuild one day and would like to do sleaves next time. Oh and was that 1" in dia.?