Light-O-Rama Forums

Snow tubes

BrownOut

I have 25 48" retro fit snow tubes coming in today via UPS. How many of you are using them as part of your display? I have seen some in the background of your videos. Do they look best far apart in a tree? Or close together?

Thanks- Logan

I'm still a lightweight and novice on the lighting front but I did use two sets of 12 six inch tubes last year in my big tree and got a ton of comments on them. So much so I've ordered another 5 sets for this year.

Mike A.

I have mine grouped vertically along the support pole in the middle of my megatree (its trunk so to speak), and activate them when I activate strobes, etc. at key points in some of the musical selections.

I don't run them all the time, in fact I run them infrequently, so they make a bigger impact when they are on..

When you power them on at the same time they all drip together. I bet you could use them to make a fireworks burst pretty easy.

BrownOut wrote:

When you power them on at the same time they all drip together. I bet you could use them to make a fireworks burst pretty easy.

Depending on the tubes.. Greg Renna's have adjustable speed and delay pots, so each can go at its own rate...

I use the snow tubes in my display and there is definately a "wow" factor when they come on. I have about 36 (assorted sizes) and I string them horizontally across 4 large oak trees suspended by a rope at the front of the display. As Greg said, I use them infrequently so as not too lose the novelty. As far as using them as a fireworks burst, I found that they move too slowly for my liking.

I bought some tubes that I will use to outline my roof.
I plan on leaving them on for the entire show.
Mine start out dripping together but change after a few seconds so they "should" be random for most of the show.