Light-O-Rama Forums

Sequencing CCRS

Ralph A

This is my third year with LOR. It is my first year with programming CCR'S. I believe since I started in January I've got a fair handle on the basics of the CCR'S, but can see I have a lot to learn.

I wanted to get different opinions on how you all approach your sequencing with the CCR'S Basically tip's and tricks on how many of you have done this in the past and what you have found to work for you! Much like George Simmons post for newbie's back in February. Which I found in lighting on how different people sequence.

I decided to buy one of Brian Bruderer, sequences and loved his work!! I see that he has his timing grid at .10, but he must seq at .05 or lower due to what I'm seeing in the grid. That is, his fades starting in the middle of a timing square. It also appears that he is not using what I call the "Block" method of sequencing. Rather using more a fluid style of sequencing.

Anyway I would greatly like to hear what you all do and how you prefer to sequence your CC'R and soon CCB'S!!!

Thanks for the advice.

The ability to use the Chase tool with CCR's is one of my favorite tools. This is best enabled by using standard beats rather than dividing all the time into tenths of second. Utilizing a primary track, with the main rhythm I copy this timing into a CCR track. When I come across a gap in the music which affords itself for chase I can easily add this with the Chase tool. Sometimes I will even delete a timing or two in a section to lengthen the chase over a period of time. I like this method rather than using the Macros because I can see the results in the current visualizer. Macros are great, but you need to hook up your CCR's and test the effects real life to be certain that your happy with the results.

Ditto that Jeff. The macro options are limited, but still useful for some situations.

Not good for
Coordinating multiple CCRs. (They get out of sync)
Chasing when multiple CCRs are end to end.