Light-O-Rama Forums

New kid on the block wants to play with animated displays...but is unsure!

Guest guest

:tree:Hello All!:tree:

Firstly I will introduce myself as this is my 1st post! My name is Karl Beetson, I am 17 years old and live in England. Now..I love Christmas and I love to decorate our house with the help of my father! Last year I was sent a video of the Carson Williams display and I was blown of my feet! Now this year I want to do an animated display but not on a USA scale! (You guys rule but us Brit's have to stay small!) I am going to use Light O Ramas hobby products as I am an electronics student and have been studying it at secondary school for 7 years and I am fully aware of what would be doing. There are a few things that are "mything" my parents and I need to clear this up before they will part with the cash! lol

1) Our old display contained a few ropelight shilouttes which where animated independantly with there own factory controllers, how do I implement these into the new system, which would allow me to have control? Any ideas?

2) Won't the ropelight break/blow because of the voltage/current running through it, if I removed the original control box and split the channels?

I hope you can help me,

I tried to upload a video but it doesnt allow...gay,oh well an example of one shilloute we have is 2 golden bells with a red ribbon, the red ribbon is allways static and the bells flash on and off as if ringing.

3 Channels?

Thanks

Karl

Welcome! You'll find lots of help and information here.

I'm no expert, and certainly not well versed in international currents, but I believe you can control your wireframes using their existing controller connected to one channel of LOR - just be sure you turn it on 100% or off 100%. Then you can use the remaining LOR channels to do other lighting effects.