Light-O-Rama Forums

DMX vs Light O Rama

pabryang

Hello everyone.

I have been using LOR for about 5 years... i have 4 boxes (64 channels) At a wedding last night I was introduced to another light enthusiast who just started 1 year ago. He has DMX light controllers and we were trying to explain to each other the difference. I thought I remember that DMX was more difficult to control however he was telling me he has over 1100 channels that he purchased for 1000 dollars. My four boxes probably have cost me that much, and i have only 64 channels.

Can someone explain to me what the difference between them are?

I'm not that into DMX but one thing you have to remember is that DMX uses multiple channels for each light, one moving head might have RGB + pan + tilt for a total of 5 channels for one lighting fixture (it could be more depending on the lights)

The main difference in them is how the software talks to the hardware. In LOR it sends a signal to the hardware at a given point in time that says start doing this now and fade it down for x amount of time.

DMX sends out 512 signals over and over and over to every piece of hardware (the light) and each piece of hardware waits to see his name come across the network to tell him what to do, at any given point there are signals being sent to every piece of hardware, but some of them will say "you stay turned off" when the hardware gets his turn, he's basically following commands that say stay on, stay on, stay on, stay on, fade down, fade down, fade down.... you get the idea.

you may have 64 channels, but each channel is completely independant of the others. You'll find people this year moving towards RGB who will have fewer lights yet more channels, because you could add one ccr which will use 157 channels. toss in some wall runners of RGB floods and the channels add up very quickly.