Light-O-Rama Forums

Woofer Distortion

kzaas

Question for all of you audiophiles out there. I have been an Electronics tech for thirty years now but never really got into the effect on sound and sizes of speaker wire.

I wired my display speakers with wire that I had left over after wiring my lights and if I remember correctly the left channel may have been wired with 22AWG and the right with 18AWG. Midway through the season I noticed distortion on the left channel and just thought that due to the fact that these were not outdoor speakers and I was hitting them with some pretty good bass(TSO-WIW) that I probably blew the woofer in the cabinette.

I had to use these speakers in my garage with 14AWG wire and they sound fine now, no distortion. Could the distortion have been caused by the undersized wire? BTW the distance from stereo to speakers was approx. 50 feet.

Have you ever seen the monster cables they use on Sub woofers....

There is a lot of power through woofer and driver speakers. My guitar amps use some pretty thick cables between the amp the and speaker boxes

My 2 cents is yes - 22 gage is too small to drive your speakers

I agree with all the above.

I have used cat 5 in the past, but my speakers are small (bookshelf style) and I split the pairs in half and end up with 2 bundles of 4 wires each. Its still not recomended.

The average speaker should have around 16 Awg wire. the longer the distance, the larger the cable size should be.

Your 18 awg is probably OK, but the 22 has got-to-go

I totally agree the 22AWG has to go, but I was just curious as to weather this was the source of the distortion. I think maybe just to satisfy my curiosity, even though I plan on running at 16AWG to the speakers this year, if I have some time this weekend I will run some tests with different wire sizes and see how it goes.