Light-O-Rama Forums

How to lock a LOR residential controller?

LogansportLights

So I'm new to the light show game and just got my first controller but I'm wondering how to lock it. It has a hole for a padlock but you can just open it with the main screw.

Thanks in advance,

Nick

Logansport Lights

1 hour ago, LogansportLights said:

So I'm new to the light show game and just got my first controller but I'm wondering how to lock it. It has a hole for a padlock but you can just open it with the main screw.

Thanks in advance,

Nick

Logansport Lights

The newer cases have:

There are 2 parts with holes. (the same 2 parts that the screw engages with). The lock goes thru both

If you got one of the 'brand new" controllers I read in another thread that they have changed the box style and that yes the locking mechanism is different however I have never seen one to know the difference.

As Tom mentioned if you can give us specifics or a picture. Seems odd that after locking with a padlock you could still take out the main screw. On some of mine there are 2 screws, one to secure the locking mech to the box and the other to actually use to secure the door. They also have a padlock hole so there is no way without removing the door or smashing the box to get it open.

On another note - I just use the screw to secure it.

JR

I've never tried locking one, but on the controllers closest to the street I use a zip tie (through the locking holes) to make sure the door stays closed.

You are missing a piece. (gen 3 enclosure)

The tab on the Body should have a plastic piece screwed into it that, which  provides the hole for the lock.

24 minutes ago, LogansportLights said:

I've posted the photos here: https://forums.planetchristmas.com/index.php?/topic/59999-how-to-lock-a-lor-residential-controller/  

This forum kept limiting the upload size.

Thanks,

Nick

Logansport Lights