Light-O-Rama Forums

Instructions on how to create lighted arches

m8ac9q

Newbie here and I am looking to create lighted arches from scratch or if possible purchased them.  Is there any sites or places where one could find the instructions?

Are you looking for the "traditional" arch which has a bunch of mini-light strings wrapped around a piece of pipe (usually PVC) in sections, or an internally lit pipe with generally RGB pixels?  I have never built a "trraditional" arch, so I'm only going by what I have seen or read here.  The most common method is to create the sections as sleeves that fit over a smaller pipe.  For example use a 1/2 inch pipe with sleeves of 1 inch pipe.  Wrap the lights around each sleeve, then slide the sleeves over the smaller pipe.  the big advantage to doing it this way is that if you need to repair a section, it is far easier.  You can even wrap up a spare section for fast replacement should you need it.  Now, the number of sections, the number of bulbs on each section, and the kinds of bulbs can create large discussion.  I will leave that to the people that use that method.

I have built arches with a translucent pipe (PEX is the preferred) and in my case drill a hole in the back side of the pipe and mount a Cosmic Color Pixel shining into the pipe.  Some people also put a smart pixel strip inside the pipe instead of the way I did it.  Since I have a web page that gives details of how I did it, I will refer you there rather than type a novel here.  http://newburghlights.org/CCP_Arches.html  Here is one photo that shows part of three arches lit up.

Lit_Arch-2.jpg

K6ccc,

Thanks that is what I was looking for.  I was not planning on using the pixels, but today reading through several of the forums I am leaning towards them.

Mark

1 hour ago, m8ac9q said:

K6ccc,

Thanks that is what I was looking for.  I was not planning on using the pixels, but today reading through several of the forums I am leaning towards them.

Mark