Light-O-Rama Forums

Questions before I buy.

Superkyle332

I wanted to ask a few questions before I buy.

I'm currently a student wanting to make a sort of "Stage performance" with the light show.

I was going to buy the 16 channel Residential series with the standard license, and the superstar add on.

Do I have to buy specific lights? I'll be mainly working with Bulbs and LED lights.

If I can use lets say the lights of my choice, How many LED Strips (Dumb) can be run on a single channel?

Is it possible to say run twenty dumb 10 inch LED strips on a single channel? All twenty of them should Light up the same way if I'm correct. They should be daisy chained together if I'm correct as well. Not sure how that should work. I'll have to do my research.

Can the LED Strips be cut down to a specific length if desired and wired to the channel?

I shouldn't be running more than 10 incandescent bulbs, There would be several shorter "Strips" of LED's but I hope that groups can be linked to 5-6 channels.

I don't know much about this at the moment, But that's why I'm asking.

Much appreciated  :D

Dumb strips will make most think of RGB LED strips. These take 3 channels, are of DC power, and require there own controller. These dumb (or basic) RGB LED strips can make millions of colors but are not controlled by the 16 channel controller you referenced. LOR sells a cmb24 controller which will allow you to control 8 strips of various lengths independently (yes, you can cut them).
 http://www1.lightorama.com/rgb-controllers/

and welcome to the forum

Do you mean RGB dumb (Color changing) or are you getting confused with rope light or just strings???

RGB requires different controllers.

IMO, you first determine what type of lights you want for a particular light element and then match the controller to it. Not to other way around.