Light-O-Rama Forums

My First Year With RGB LEDs

OurMikeyRocks

Enjoy - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5WyHyoATKHk

The core of my display is still Light-0-Rama - S3, SuperStar, AC controllers, DC controllers, DIO controller, and other miscellaneous equipment.  I didn't bother to do a channel or light count this year, but I'm sure it is greater than 128.  I would guess about 230 LOR channels and around 25,000 standard LEDs.

This is my first year with the RGB LEDs.  The megatree has 2080 and the leaping arches have 300.  These are under the control of SanDevices 682 controllers connected to the LOR software via the E1.31 interface.

My show is 100% LED.  It contains some elements that are new and some that are old.  The Ferris Wheel is 13 years old and is still the crowd favorite - I would probably have to move if I didn't put up the Ferris Wheel.  However, the megatree gave it a run for the money this year.  I was really pleased with how it turned out.  The video doesn't really show it, but the megatree is 23 feet tall and the Ferris Wheel is 11 feet tall.

One of my significant observations is that the new RGB LEDs are very bright.  I had a hard time with them saturating the camera.  When you look at the video, you will see portions where the megatree shows color, but the rest of the image is very dark, and you will see portions where the megatree is showing only white and the rest of the image is normal.  I will seek advice and see if I can't do better photography next year.  And I will add more RGB LEDs next year.

Mikey

Mikey,

Really nice. Love the show.

I expected the video to be trash after reading your post first - pleasantly surprised. Nice job.

Really like the ferris wheel.

Congratulations.

- Daniel

I was thinking about changing my megatrees over to pixels. May I ask how many strings you have there on yours? Taking a wild guess, looks like 14 or 16 but if its 2080 channels, how many nodes per string? Great display!