Light-O-Rama Forums

RGB Advice and information

LightFly

I am new. I am NOT a techie by an stretch of the imagination. I currently have one set of 10 dollar LED lights setup around my roof line. That's it. 

I am really interested in doing something for the 4th of July/Halloween because I think it is too late for Christmas this year.

I REALLY like the concept of the RGBs and the ability to essentially have any display at any given time.

My plan would be to have a few rows on my roof, then outline my roofline, windows, garage, trim etc. additionally, For Christmas I would line my sidewalk and bushes.

I like the look of traditional lights, but the ease of ribbon installation makes them super appealing.

A: Can you program the RGB ribbons to look like traditional lights or should I just go with the RGB pixels?

B: If I go with the pixels, can I achieve the same effects as the ribbons? such as text and images (like a waving American flag, or snow falling on the rooftop?)

My plan would be to leave them on steady for most of the evening in a traditional manner, in the early evening I would run a show and then put them back to steady after that for the rest of evening.

C: Can I just hook up once controller to an outlet and run the roof on one channel, the roofline on another, the trim on a 3rd and my bushes/sidewalk on a 4th? Is is that simple?

D: should I go with a DMX controller to have the added effects of a fog machine in October, Smoke/sparks on the 4th of July, etc.

Thanks in advance.

http://forums.lightorama.com/index.php?/topic/32270-cmb-24-videos/?p=297149

In this post I made awhile back, is probably most of what you need to know to get RGB up and running.

A: If you're wanting a traditional look, then I would go with Pixels or nodes as opposed to Ribbons. LOR CCBs will give the C9 look and there are 100 pixels in a set with 6" spacing.