Light-O-Rama Forums

Showtime Director output to DMX

Eric walls

With the new update it looks like the Showtime Director can output one of it's ports to DMX?  Does that mean that I can run a CAT5 cable from that port directly to a Holiday Coro DMX controller without a bridge?

How many universes can it output?

Do I just program that in the network preferences and add the DMX controller in the Sequence Editor?

I'm very curious about this.  If I can do it I'd like to add the Holiday Coro candy canes next season.

Thanks for any help or suggestions, this is my first season.

Eric

• Like 1

• 2 months later...

I would also like to know as Holiday Coro stated their products are NOT compatible with LOR G3 Director.

I am a newbie in the DMX world and there are experts in this forum who will probably correct everything I say, but I will share what I have learn so far from this forum and materials that HolidayCoro provides on his site and via him answering my email questions.  I will answer the question you ask and give a more broader background on the subject.

I believe the reason for LOR G3 Director not being compatiable with SOME of the contollers being sold by Holiday Coro is due to the protocol the G3 can communicate (LOR and DMX512) to what some of the Coro controllers are designed to use, either E1.11 (DMX512-A) vs. E1.31/Artnet (note - E1.31 and Artnet are not one and the same, but are both based on ethernet).  If you are going with the Pixlite or AlphaPix contollers sold on Coro, they are E1.31.  I do not know about the Coro candy canes, but you want to find what DMX protocol they are aligned with to see if you can run them with a G3 director.

There is a RJ45 port on our computer, G3 Directors, LOR controllers, and these Coro sold controllers, but the RJ45 port is leveraged by many protocols.  The protocols below can be communicated out an RJ45 port

LOR Protocol - RS485

E1.11 (DMX) - RS485

E1.31 (DMX) - Ethernet