Light-O-Rama Forums

Channel addressing for the E1-31 network

kzaas

I am just getting into RGB pixels and SANDEVICES E682. My question is addressing. is each universes channels 1 through 170 or for instance for the E682 that can control 6 universes is the addressing for U1 1 through 170 then U2 is the next 170 channels and so on.

Each DMX universe can control 170 RGB channels.  They would be 1 - 170 for that universe.  Now to confuse things a bit, the DMX universe REALLY is channels 1 - 512.  There is NO requirement that DMX be used for RGB.  However since most of us are using DMX for RGB, we often get lazy and think of it as 1 - 170 (170 * 3 = 510 and DMX channels 511 & 512 are normally unused).  Both in LOR SE and when configuring the E682, you are dealing with individual channels, so it's 1 - 510

For example, my pixel tree uses 600 RGB channels (or 1800 channels), so it's using the entirety of DMX universes 11, 12, and 13; and part of universe 14.  Then the star on top uses another 360 RGB channels (or 1080 channels) so they are in the rest of universe 14, all or universe 15, and part of universe 16.

I do understand that it is 512 channels per universe, I just misstated my question. Is each universe channels addressed 1 through 512 or does universe 2 start at 513

Universe 1 has channels 1 - 512

Universe 2 has channels 1 - 512

Etc.

Think of is just like any collection of LOR controllers - each controller has channels 1 - 16 (or 8 or 24 or lots more for Cosmic Color devices).

a simple question gets the best of all of us LOL  now I don't feel as bad LOL

• 3 years later...

Hello all