Light-O-Rama Forums

Buying a new computer what do i need?

WeissWonderland

I am new to the light o rama family and need to get a lap top since i only run a mac. Any ideas on what type, how much memory or the speed of the processor? Remember im a landscaper and i am foreign to computer language so please explain in detail. Also anyone around the North Richland Hills Texas area that would be interested in giving me some tips?

I am new to the light o rama family and need to get a lap top since i only run a mac. Any ideas on what type, how much memory or the speed of the processor? Remember im a landscaper and i am foreign to computer language so please explain in detail. Also anyone around the North Richland Hills Texas area that would be interested in giving me some tips?

How seriously are you planning to get into this? A few 16 channel controllers? A bunch of 16 channel controllers? Thousands of RGB pixels?

I've been running a show with 60 controllers on a PC that was considered obsolete 5 years ago. I've been sequencing that show on a 4 year old laptop, with no complaints.

So pretty much any average PC sold new today should have no issues at all with probably up to 100 16 channel controllers. If you think you may do a bunch of pixels, you might want to aim higher. Or if you think you have at least a couple of years before you get to pixels, I would suggest starting with the mid range system, and then in a couple of years, the mid range system will be what today's high end system was. Your total investment will be the same, and you will have one PC to use as a show PC, and one for sequencing.

i really dont know. I guess i would be doing both from the same computer since all the other computers i have are mac. Will that work to do both on one? I think i just might run out of money before this is all done ha ha .