Light-O-Rama Forums

Lighting Pumpkins / Fun-kins

mrtugs

Hi all,

I'm new to this, but hoping to do something next year for Halloween with some 'singing pumpkins' (or more likely the fake "fun-kins") on my yard.

So a really dumb question - could you folks recommend any particular lights to illuminate the funkins from the inside? I would prefer LED for many reasons, but typically I see them for sale in strings/ropes/etc. Are there good units that fit inside nicely, or am I being stupid and really you just buy one of those LED replacement light bulb things and a standard fitting and hack something together? I'd value your input!

Thanks.

John.

Personally, The LED C7 bulbs I've experimented with just don't cut it. I use a standard, single C7 socket and an incandescent C7 bulb in all my "artificial" pumpkins/Funkins. They work out the best for their interior lighting. An Orange C7 incandescent works the very best for the best look, especially if you use a "flickering effect" to emulate a flickering candle flame.

Here's a sequence I created using the "flickering candle" effect that I use in all my Jack O' Lanterns:

Attached files Flickering Jack-O-Lanterns.las

I have 2 c7 white LEDs (from CDI) in mine.

The older ones have a yellow interior, so the white worked out find. However I added 3 new ones this year, and have a white interior and the white LEDs made it too white, so so I ended up using 2 red and one Green LED. Makes a nice yellow with a strange green/red tinge and they are about as bright as the rest. (I did not have any orange bulbs on hand to use in the new pumpkins)

That's great info - thank you both. Silly question - where do you get your C7 lamp holders from? Not something the regular DIY stores stock, so I'm figuring there are some good places online. I'll search for myself, but if you have any recommendations that would be super.

Thanks!

This is where I buy mine at:
http://www.nationalartcraft.com/subcategory.asp?gid=1&cid=27&scid=27