Light-O-Rama Forums

Servo Dog

Dan C

I am considering adding a Servo Dog to my setup but have a question. Is there any limit to how far away from the servos the Servo Dog can be? I'm considering having it located approx. 25' away. I would be using Cat 5e cable to run the three wires along with power for an RGB spot light.

Would there be any problems doing this?

Thanks.

I'm not an expert. but I can tell you, it depends on what size servos you are using, small servos for a talking skull would be fine. 1/4 scale servos, moving something heavy, may require heavier wire...
check out;
http://www.servocity.com/index.html

Pick a servo, and there is a lot of tech info there...

I got one light built last night to test. I'll have to modify some Cat cable to test it like you said Jeff.

I plan to hook it up to 5 servos that are spread out about 5 feet apart. Hence the 25' length.

Thanks.

Dan,
What are you building?, or is it a secret?:D

I'm running 3 small servos on 10 feet of cat5 with no problems, but I would still defer to Jeff, and Kevin. I just did it with out knowing the capacity of the wire.
:shock:

Well, it's a work in progress so I'm not ready to let that cat out just yet. :D

I'm working on developing a mounting system first. I have a prototype made but its has a little too much flex when it moves so I will need to figure out a way to beef it up. I think I have an idea, but I will need to order some parts first.

Still have yet to test the wire length yet. I don't have any extra Cat cable right now. I've got an order in for another 1000' roll from Monoprice.com So that should be here soon.

Just to throw in another two cents, when I build my Servodog boxes, I use short tails that terminate in XLR connectors. Then I use standard microphone cable to run to the various servos. I've used up to 50' of XLR cable between the Servodog and the servo without any issue that I noticed.

Hope this helps..

Ryan