Light-O-Rama Forums

Tomato Cages

Guest guest

Was in one of my local Lowes stores yesterday, stacks and stacks of tomato cages, two sizes....I used the Lowes cages last year for mini trees, both sizes worked well.

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• caniac

• jimswinder

• lightzilla

• Amazn1

DonFL wrote:

Was in one of my local Lowes stores yesterday, stacks and stacks of tomato cages, two sizes....I used the Lowes cages last year for mini trees, both sizes worked well.

What ever happened to my posts on this thread? I could not even log on yesterday, Fatal Error..........then something about Line 400. Even Don's (From Medicine Hat Alberta) Post was deleted. He asked about a "how to" and so what is written below is for him and anyone else.

Anyhow yes tomato cages work very well for mini trees. I have been using tomato cages since my 2007 set up. I use those smaller ones (32 inch I believe) and they fit my display very well.

I use two tomato cages per mini tree so that I have a more rounder tree. So when you inert 1 cage into the other cage just make sure there are six visible steel wires to give you that rounder look when adding lights.

I then tape or zip tie the cages so that they stay together. If there is some gap between the rings that is good because those gaps help hold the lights in place.

Since I live in a snowy area I leave about the 1st 6 inches of the cages free of lights. So you have the big ring on the bottom and so you leave the 1st 6 inches free of lights and then fasten the male plug on 1 of those 6 steel bars. I use electrical tape to fasten the male plugs, or zip ties.

Before I forget........those 6 steel loose bars make up the point and so I bend them over to make an eye and insert about 3 or 4 zip ties to keep those loose steel bars together for that point.

Usually 3 strings of 70 count LEDs cover the 32 inch cages O K......but 4 might be better. So maybe a 36 inch tree might take 4 or 5 strings.